BY Led Black (@Led_Black)
Like many of Uptown’s residents, both past and present, the Little Red Lighthouse is actually a transplant from other shores. Sandy Hook, New Jersey to be exact. That’s right, our iconic lighthouse is actually the top half of a lighthouse in Sandy Hook and has been in its present location since 1921. Made obsolete by the George Washington Bridge, which was opened in 1931, the lighthouse was decommissioned as an operational lighthouse in 1932. The Little Red Lighthouse was immortalized in the children’s book The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge, written by Hildegarde Swift and Lynd Ward in 1942. This past Saturday, the Urban Park Rangers opened up the Lighthouse to the public from 1 to 4pm. Man, what a view.
For more info: www.nycgovparks.org/
THE LITTLE RED LIGHTHOUSE OPENS UP TO THE PUBLIC TOMORROW «August 13, 2010 at 11:05 am
[…] Check out our previous post: http://www.uptowncollective.com/the-little-red-lighthouse/ […]